Faro Isla de Culebritas, South side of Isla Culebrita, Culebra, Culebra Municipio, PR
Significance: Isla Culebrita Light was built in 1886 on the western side of Virgin Passage. In both design and importance of location the stone structure is unique. In 1888 the 4th order light showed a fixed white light with a 12 mile range. The lenticular illuminating apparatus was manufactured by Sautter, Lemmonnier, & Cie. in 1884 or 1885 as a fixed 3 1/2 order lens. It had 75 cms. in diameter. It was formed by 4 panels. The central drum had 9 elements; 9 prisms in each panel above central drum and 4 below. The lantern - in situ - was also a 3 1/2 order, 2 mts. in diameter made of cast-iron, copper, and glass. A door led from the lantern to the cement gallery surrounded by a a cast-iron balustrade. Both, the lens and lantern were severely damaged by the 1932 hurricane (the lens was actually destroyed). The lantern was repaired and a 375 mm. lens was installed.
Survey number: HAER PR-12
Building/structure dates: 1886 Initial Construction
Building/structure dates: 1932 Subsequent Work
Building/structure dates: 1959 Subsequent Work