National Home for Disabled Volunteer Soldiers - Battle Mountain Sanitarium, Laundry, 500 North Fifth Street, Hot Springs, Fall River County, SD
- Upscale 2x7680x5524
The name of the overall site and some individual buildings were edited after the initial photographic survey was transmitted. Previously the site was incompletely called Battle Mountain Sanitarium. The building was incorrectly called Battle Mountain Sanitarium, Protestant Chapel, which was changed to Catholic Chapel. The name has been changed again to National Home for Disabled Volunteer Soldiers - Battle Mountain Sanitarium, Laundry. The secondary name of Hot Springs Veterans Administration Medical Center, Catholic Church has been added. The current name of Black Hills VA Health Care System - Hot Springs Campus was added to the building number in the secondary name.
See HABS No. SD-24-F for measured drawings. See overview historical context HABS No. SD-24 for additional information on the Battle Mountain Sanitarium and the National Home for Disabled Volunteer Soldiers.
Significance: Built between 1903 and 1907 as the original Laundry and Billiard Room for the
Battle Mountain Sanitarium, Building No. 10 was later converted into maintenance shops and a Catholic Chapel. The pavilion-plan hospital at Battle Mountain Sanitarium was designed by Omaha architect Thomas Rogers Kimball. The Mission Revival complex included an Administration Building, six wards, and a Mess Hall/Service Building arranged around a circular connecting corridor. Two small service wings were attached to the sides of the Mess Hall building via connecting corridors. The original Laundry was housed in the west wing. Battle Mountain Sanitarium was unique within the National Home system in its primary purpose as a medical facility. Veterans would travel for short term treatment of acute conditions before returning to other primarily residential National Home for Disabled Volunteer Soldiers branches.
Survey number: HABS SD-24-P
Building/structure dates: 1903-1907 Initial Construction
Building/structure dates: 1958 Subsequent Work
Building/structure dates: after. 1955- before. 1960 Subsequent Work
National Register of Historic Places NRIS Number: 11000561