Part of PICRYL.com. Not developed or endorsed by the Library of Congress
Ruins of the Catholic Cathedral, Charleston, S.C. Front view

Similar

Ruins of the Catholic Cathedral, Charleston, S.C. Front view

description

Summary

Stereograph showing the ruins of the Cathedral of St. John and St. Finbar on Broad and Legare Streets in Charleston that was destroyed by fire December 1861.
Part of series: The War for the Union. Photographic History.

Photograph attributed to George N. Barnard based on image in LOT 13461, no. 21.
Copyright 1865 by E. & H.T. Anthony & Co.
Forms part of: Civil War Photograph Collection (Library of Congress).
Original negative may be available: LC-B811-3074.

During the Civil War, photographers produced thousands of stereoviews. Stereographs were popular during American Civil War. A single glass plate negative capture both images using a Stereo camera. Prints from these negatives were intended to be looked at with a special viewer called a stereoscope, which created a three-dimensional ("3-D") image. This collection includes glass stereograph negatives, as well as stereograph card prints.

date_range

Date

01/01/1865
person

Contributors

Barnard, George N., 1819-1902, photographer
E. & H.T. Anthony (Firm), copyright claimant
place

Location

North Charleston32.88856, -80.00751
Google Map of 32.88856, -80.00751
create

Source

Library of Congress
copyright

Copyright info

No known restrictions on publication.

Explore more

catholic churches
catholic churches