Library Of Congress
Library Of CongressPublic Domain ArchivePart of PICRYL.com. Not developed or endorsed by the Library of Congress
  • searchSearch
  • photo_albumStories
  • collectionsCollections
  • infoAbout
  • star_rateUpgrade

[Abraham Lincoln, three-quarter length portrait, seated and holding his spectacles and pencil (retouched to stand out)]

The times - taken from an original character which appear'd at the masquerade at Lincoln, Decr. the 21st 1769

Important News. Boston (Twelve o'clock) Friday, August 22. The following letter from the Hon. Major-General Lincoln to the Honorable council, is just received by express. Bennington, August 18, 1777. Gentlemen: I most sincerely congratulate you

The hon'le. B. Lincoln, Esq., major general in the American Army / J. Norman sc.

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, March 5, 1801

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, April 25, 1801

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, April 17, 1801

Levi Lincoln to Alexander J. Dallas, March 25, 1801

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, June 22, 1801

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, April 10, 1801

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, August 28, 1801

Levi Lincoln, July 7, 1802, Sale of City Lots

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, May 1802

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, April 17, 1802

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, March 24, 1802

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, January 28, 1802

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, December 13, 1802

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, January 1, 1802

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, August 30, 1803

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, April 26, 1803

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, March 23, 1803

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, September 16, 1804

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, March 14, 1804

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, June 24, 1804

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, December 28, 1804

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, March 23, 1808

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, November 13, 1808

Thomas Jefferson to Levi Lincoln, August 25, 1811

Abraham Lincoln papers: Series 1. General Correspondence. 1833-1916: Albert V. Colburn to Hudson, October 1861 (Telegram regarding military affairs; endorsed by William Seward to Lincoln)

New Salem, home of Abraham Lincoln 1831 to 1837.

Alton Institute. A lecture will be delivered this evening, at the Baptist church, by Rev. G. B. Perry. Subject- "Elevated intelligence conducive to pure morality." ... J. W. Lincoln, Sec'y. [Alton] Feb. 12 [1840?].

Attention delegates to the Springfield convention!! You, one and all!! are requested to meet in Market-Street, on Monday morning, June 1st, at six o'clock ready to take up your march for Springfield. William S. Lincoln, Marshal. Saturday, May 30

Alton institute. The regular annual meeting of the members of the institute, will be holden on Monday, June 28th, at 8 o'clock P. M. ... J. W. Lincoln, Rec. Sec. Alton, June 26, 1841.

Notice. the introductory lecture, before the Alton institute, has been postponed, on account of the inclemency of the weather, until Tuesday evening next ... J. W. Lincoln, Rec. Sec. Alton, Friday, Jan. 29, 1841.

Leander Munsell to Abraham Lincoln, Thursday, April 23, 1846 (Appointment)

Lincoln as a member of Congress in 1847

Death of Adjt. Genl. George S. Lincoln

Abraham Lincoln, Wednesday, December 22, 1847 (Printed Resolution and Preamble on Mexican War: “Spot Resolutions")

George W. Dole to Abraham Lincoln, Thursday, March 30, 1848 (Appointments)

A 100th anniversary map of Abraham Lincoln's visit to Massachusetts, September 11-23, 1848.

Justin Butterfield to Abraham Lincoln, Monday, April 10, 1848 (Request for documents)

Abraham Lincoln to Elihu B. Washburne, Sunday, April 30, 1848 (Politics)

W. K. Payne to Abraham Lincoln, Tuesday, March 27, 1849 (Appointment)

Peter Hagner to Abraham Lincoln, Monday, March 19, 1849 (Mexican War Claim)

Moses Hampton to Abraham Lincoln, Friday, March 30, 1849 (Appointment)

Abraham Lincoln to William M. Meredith, Friday, March 09, 1849 (Appointments)

Charles H. Constable to Abraham Lincoln, Sunday, June 10, 1849 (Abraham Lincoln in Land Office)

George Dent to Abraham Lincoln, Saturday, February 24, 1849 (Dixon Land Office)

W.T. Chellares & Co to Stephen T. Logan and Abraham Lincoln, Wednesday, April 11, 1849 (Legal Business; Introduction for Appointment)

Fitz Henry Warren to Abraham Lincoln, Monday, April 30, 1849 (Postmaster Appointment)

Fitz Henry Warren to Abraham Lincoln, Thursday, May 03, 1849 (Postmaster Appointment)

Abraham Lincoln, [May 1, 1849] (Memorandum on appointment of John R. Jeffries)

Josiah B. Herrick to Abraham Lincoln, Friday, April 20, 1849 (Appointment)

Edward D. Baker to Abraham Lincoln, Friday, April 27, 1849 (Appointment)

Fitz Henry Warren to Abraham Lincoln, Saturday, March 31, 1849 (Postmaster Appointment)

George W. Dole to Abraham Lincoln, Wednesday, April 11, 1849 (Appointment)

A. M. Blackburn to Abraham Lincoln, Sunday, April 08, 1849 (Appointment)

Jesse K. Dubois to Abraham Lincoln, Monday, April 02, 1849 (Appointment)

John E. Collins to Abraham Lincoln, Sunday, February 25, 1849 (Appointment)

Justin Butterfield to Abraham Lincoln, Saturday, June 09, 1849 (Abraham Lincoln in Land Office)

Abraham Lincoln to John M. Clayton, Sunday, March 11, 1849 (United States Marshal Appointment)

Alexander P. Dunbar and William W. Bishop to Abraham Lincoln, Wednesday, June 06, 1849 (Abraham Lincoln in Land Office)

Hugh Lamaster and William Phelps to Abraham Lincoln, Friday, March 16, 1849 (Postmaster Appointment)

John W. Norton to Abraham Lincoln, Tuesday, May 01, 1849 (Appointment)

Isaac Shelby to Abraham Lincoln, Wednesday, June 13, 1849 (Referral)

Anson G. Henry to Abraham Lincoln, Friday, June 15, 1849 (Appointment)

Ferdinand Maxwell to Abraham Lincoln, Thursday, April 05, 1849 (Appointment)

Fitz Henry Warren to Abraham Lincoln, Tuesday, May 15, 1849 (Postmaster Appointment)

Charles W. Noble to Abraham Lincoln, Monday, April 30, 1849 (Appointment)

Fitz Henry Warren to Abraham Lincoln, Friday, May 11, 1849 (Postmaster Appointment)

Abraham Lincoln to Thomas Ewing, Saturday, April 07, 1849 (Recommendation)

Benjamin F. James to Abraham Lincoln, Monday, April 16, 1849 (Appointment)

Oaks Turner and George Dent to Abraham Lincoln, Saturday, February 24, 1849 (Dixon Land Office)

Anson G. Henry to Abraham Lincoln, Monday, June 11, 1849 (Abraham Lincoln in Land Office)

Robert Moseley to Abraham Lincoln, Tuesday, April 17, 1849 (Appointment)

J. W. Smith to Abraham Lincoln, Thursday, February 22, 1849 (Appointment)

Fitz Henry Warren to Abraham Lincoln, Monday, April 09, 1849 (Postmaster Appointment)

Robert J. Cross to Abraham Lincoln, Sunday, February 25, 1849 (Appointment)

Fitz Henry Warren to Abraham Lincoln, Wednesday, March 21, 1849 (Post Office in Kentucky)

Peter Menard to Abraham Lincoln, Sunday, April 15, 1849 (Appointment)

E. F. Ryan to Abraham Lincoln, Monday, June 11, 1849 (Abraham Lincoln in Land Office)

William C. Scott to Abraham Lincoln, Monday, May 07, 1849 (Carpet purchase)

William K. Lindsay to Abraham Lincoln, Tuesday, May 15, 1849 (Appointment)

Fitz Henry Warren to Abraham Lincoln, Wednesday, March 21, 1849 (Post Office in Kentucky)

William H. Henderson to Abraham Lincoln, Saturday, May 26, 1849 (Abraham Lincoln in Land Office)

C. H. Knapp and A. L. Knapp to Abraham Lincoln, Tuesday, June 05, 1849 (Abraham Lincoln in Land Office)

Isaac Funk to Abraham Lincoln and Edward D. Baker, Thursday, March 01, 1849 (Appointment)

Fitz Henry Warren to Abraham Lincoln, Saturday, March 31, 1849 (Postmaster Appointment)

Abraham Lincoln to Thomas Ewing, Saturday, April 07, 1849 (Recommendation)

James Pollock to Abraham Lincoln, Monday, June 18, 1849 (Abraham Lincoln in Land Office)

Alexander P. Dunbar to Abraham Lincoln, Saturday, May 05, 1849 (Apportionment)

George S. Gideon to Abraham Lincoln, Wednesday, April 18, 1849 (Printed Newspaper Prospectus)

Augustus H. Chapman to Abraham Lincoln, Thursday, May 24, 1849 (Illness of Thomas Lincoln (father))

Fitz Henry Warren to Abraham Lincoln, Thursday, May 10, 1849 (Postmaster Appointment)

George W. Rives to Abraham Lincoln, March 1849 (Appointment)

Peter Menard to Abraham Lincoln, Wednesday, April 04, 1849 (Appointment)

Fitz Henry Warren to Abraham Lincoln, Tuesday, March 20, 1849 (Postmaster Appointment)

J. C. Lonnerman Company to Abraham Lincoln, Wednesday, May 02, 1849 (Carpet Bill)

Edward D. Baker to Abraham Lincoln, Friday, June 08, 1849 (Recommendation; endorsed by James)

William D. Alt to Abraham Lincoln, Friday, June 15, 1849 (Abraham Lincoln in Land Office)